Now Playing Tracks

The most prescient thing about Cronenberg’s movie eXistenZ — a movie that I truly love — is the idea that when a woman becomes a controversial, outstanding and vocal part of the gaming community entire gangs of men will rise up who want her murdered.

See also: this article The Next Civil Rights Issue: Why Women Aren’t Welcome on the Internet  

or: The story about video game writer Jennifer Hepler who quit her job at BioWare because of death threats.



Comics in Review: The 2013 Comic Book Grrrl Awards

Click through to the article for full analysis, reviews and the close runners up as well as lots of ever so pretty pictures ^_^

Artist of the Year: Sean Murphy (Punk Rock Jesus, The Wake)

Anthology of the Year: Boo! - Warwick Johnson Cadwell, Paul Harrison-Davies, Jonathan Edwards, James Howard, Gary Northfield, Jamie Smart, Andrew Waugh

Best Alt/Indie Comic of the Year: Raygun Roads - Owen Michael Johnson, Indio

Best in Translation: Blue is the Warmest Color - Julie Maroh

Biggest Surprise Hit:X-Men Legacy - Simon Spurrier, Tan Eng Huat, José Villarrubia (et al)

Biography/Memoir of the Year: Lighter Than My Shadow - Katie Green

Breakthrough Star: Allie Brosh (Hyperbole and a Half)

Characters of the Year: Saga - Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staples

Collected Edition of the Year: The Abominable Charles Christopher Vol 2 - Karl Kerschl 

Colourist of the Year: Matt Hollingsworth (The Wake, Hawkeye, Daredevil: End of Days, Punisher: War Zone, Wolverine)

Comic of the Year: Ballistic - Adam Egypt Mortimer, Darick Robertson, Diego Rodriguez

Covers to Covet: Emily and The Strangers (Variants) - R Black, Winston Smith, Cynthia Von Buhler

Design of the Year: Hawkeye - Matt Fraction, David Aja, Matt Hollingsworth, Chris Eliopoulos (et al)

Digital Comic of the Year: The Private Eye - Brian K. Vaughan, Marcos Martin, Muntsa Vicente

Distinguished Debut: Liberator - Matt Miner, Javier Aranda, Joaquin Pereyra

Gift Choice: My Dog: The Paradox - Matthew Inman

Graphic Novel of the Year: The Lengths - Howard Hardiman

History Choice: Pretty in Ink - Trina Robbins

Innovation of the Year:Knight & Dragon - Matt Gibbs, Bevis Musson, Nathan Ashworth

Kids Choice: Dungeon Fun - Neil Slorrance, Colin Bell

Letterer of the Year: Clayton Cowles (Young Avengers, Fearless Defenders, Pretty Deadly, FF, Zero, Three)

Publisher of the Year: Image

Tears! Tears Everywhere: Action Comics - Grant Morrison, Travel Foreman, Brad Anderson (et al)

The Feels!: Young Avengers - Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson (et al)

Voice of the Year: Alex de Campi (Smoke/Ashes, Grindhouse: Doors Open At Midnight)

Webcomic of the Year: Nimona - Noelle Stevenson

Writer of the Year: Grant Morrison (Batman Incorporated, Action Comics, Happy)

Wrongful Cancellation of the Year: I, Vampire - Joshua Hale Fialkov, Andrea Sorrenntino, Marcelo Maiolo

Zeitgeist of the Year: Attack on Titan (Shingeki no Kyojin) - Hajime Isayama

Source: The 2013 Comic Book Grrrl Awards

We make Tumblr themes